Less Annoying CRM logo Less Annoying CRM LACRM
Getting Started

Other tips

Error Codes

If something goes wrong during an API call, it will return an HTTP 400 along with an error object:

{ 
    "ErrorCode": "4178t6namw3vx9s6", 
    "ErrorDecription": "Description of the problem."
}

The error description should provide enough information to figure out the problem. If you're having trouble you can always contact us with the error code and information about what you are trying to accomplish.

View API call logs

While using the API, it may be useful to view a list of calls you have made to an account. The last 50 API calls from the past week, including function name, timestamp, parameters, and result, are listed in the "API logs" section at the bottom of your API Settings page.

Editing only certain fields

When you call an edit function such as EditContact or EditTask, you can pass new values for all the fields if you want to change everything. If you only want to change specific fields (e.g. if you want to mark a task as completed but don't otherwise want to change anything), you can do this by just omitting any fields you don't want to change. The edit API functions only edit fields that are passed to the API.

Note that this means there's a difference between leaving a field out entirely vs. passing a null value. If you pass a null value, that means we'll blank out the field. If you don't pass a value for the field at all, we'll leave the existing value in place.

Contacts and companies

Contacts are linked to companies via the company name field. When a contact is created, if it has a company name set, one of two things will happen:

  1. If a company with that name exists in the CRM, the contact will be listed as working at that company.
  2. If no such company exists, a company with that name will be created, and the contact will be linked to the new company.

Duplicate company names are not allowed in the CRM.

These rules only apply to contacts and companies that a user has permission to see. For example, if user Alice cannot see Bob's contacts, Alice may create a company with the same name as one of Bob's companies.

Next page: Tutorials